Reviews

To write a review or to view our full list, please see our NHS Choices Profile

updated at 10:46am on 19/06/2018

by Anonymous

The phone system cannot cope with demand

I live in Heath Road and it is actually quicker for me to drive down to the surgery and speak to someone on Reception than get through by phone. Also, please could you change the text system to including the day of the week as well as the date it would have helped by daughter, who had about 6 different appointments to attend to have her dressing changed, not to turn up on the wrong day! Some people, especially youngsters, don't carry diaries around with them!

Visited in May 2018, Posted on 31 May 2018

by Anonymous

Well done to everyone at Salisbury Medical Practice

We would like to express our thanks to all staff for providing a professional and caring practice. Fortunately, we rarely need to call on the services, however when we do we are always extremely impressed and grateful for the service and care we receive from all staff.
The NHS often receives negative comments which is why we wanted to submit a positive review. We are very lucky to belong to such a fantastic practice and are also very grateful.

Visited in May 2018, Posted on 30 May 2018

by Anonymous

Extreme long wait for blood pressure 24 hour test machine

Have been waiting over 10 weeks to fitted with 24 hour blood pressure machine. Meanwhile dentist will not extract tooth until given clearance by doctor that blood pressure is OK. Now taking paracetamol daily for tooth ache & prescribed antibiotics.
How much longer does someone have to wait.
Receptionist regrets there is nothing they can do or give any idea how long the wait will be.

Visited in March 2018, Posted on 18 May 2018

by Anonymous

Pathetic Telephone System

The Telephone answering by the office /reception staff is a disgrace and an insult to the 22,000+patients that depend on a respectable front of house system. To wait 25 minutes for an answer when assistance is required and is not acceptable,
The other problem is the "Repeat Prescription" system. So many times the request is wrongly prepared, and when visiting Tandy's to collect we are referred back to the surgery system. If the whole management organisation is not improved I shall have to make a formal complaint to higher authority. The sad part about all this is, that you are letting down a wonderful medical team of Doctors.
You have my email address. I would appreciate an acknowledgement of this complaint and some indication of how you are going to improve the whole office set up.
As an ex BT engineer I could tell you how to make your communication system far more effective
ALL THIS HAS BEEN WRITTEN WHILST WAITING FOR THE PHONE TO BE ANSWERED

Visited in April 2018, Posted on 25 April 2018

by Anonymous

Disappointing GP experience

I have been registered with this practice for almost a year and have always received a good standard of care and support from all staff. I have been offered appointments in a timely manner and reception staff have always been extremely polite and helpful.
However, I recently had a very poor experience with a particular GP whom, after I tried to explain my situation to him, was quick to dismiss my previous misdiagnosis from another treatment agency, as well as dispute my own knowledge and experience of my health condition. He spoke over the top of me most of the time and came across as extremely arrogant. Hugely disappointing!

Visited in March 2018, Posted on 16 April 2018

by Anonymous

Brilliant doctors and nurses, but poor reception staff

I called the surgery for a appointment as on hold for 35 minutes, which is fine I totally understand that the nhs is under pressure and I don’t mind waiting. However when I finally got through to reception, the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful when o asked for a appointment, they told me to call back in the afternoon and then hung up. I have to say the doctors and nurses are treat, they are thorough and have great bedside manner.

Visited in March 2018, Posted on 27 March 2018

by Anonymous

great doctors let down by some reception staff

Good doctors surgery with caring gp's.
My only complaint is the type of reception you get from the receptionist varies greatly. On some occasions is is fantastic and they will bend over backwards to help, on others (like my most recent call) I was huffed at down the phone five or six times. I was made to feel as though my request was too difficult to reslove.
I can appreciate that at 6pm everyone wants to go home but if one cannot conduct themselves in a professional manner they should not be the point of contact for the public.

Visited in November 2017, Posted on 22 November 2017

by Anonymous

Excellent care but poor customer service at reception.

The GPS, nurses and midwives are excellent in my experience. I always feel listened to and cared for.

However getting an appointment is very difficult and phones often go unanswered. I have been left on hold for 10 minutes on numerous occasions. On arrival at the surgery the receptionists are not particularly friendly. In fact there have been times when there have been two receptionists working and a queue of people waiting, yet one receptionist blindly ignores the queue and clears up the desk! They also never apologise for the wait either.

At my most recent appointment I was 9 months pregnant and left queueing whilst one receptionist dealt with customers and the other wondered about talking to other people who work at the surgery.

Visited in November 2017, Posted on 06 November 2017

by Anonymous

phones never answered and never the same gp

practice to busy now. never able to see the same gp, telephones never answered, can be on hold for up to 10 mins regularly.
care from staff fine and good link with all pharmacy's for prescriptions.
large gp surgerys are not the way forward

Visited in October 2017, Posted on 23 October 2017

by Anonymous

Very pleased so far and would recommend

I moved to this practice from another in Salisbury where I had been registered for 20 years but increasingly seemed only to be able to access locums and where the receptionist service was frosty and rather unhelpful.

No such problems so far with this practice. The receptionists have been extremely helpful and treated me in a friendly but professional manner.

The phone has been answered promptly and I have had little difficulty in obtaining an appointment unlike my previous practice where I once had to wait 8 weeks!

The practice is light, airy and modern with plenty of free parking.

Visited in August 2017, Posted on 22 August 2017